About the Research Project

About the Research Project

Ritual Design for the Ballet Stage

Constructions of Popular Culture in European Theatrical Dance (1650–1760)

The project takes a multi-perspectival approach in examining European theatrical dance between 1650 and 1760 – from Pierre Beauchamp becoming dance teacher to Louis XIV to the appearance of Jean Georges Noverre’s great reform writings.

In the stage works of the time, processes of social negotiation were taken as themes and aestheticised in all kinds of different ways. The ritual content of these portrayals, in the sense of a prescribed, symbolic, and formalised plot with transformative power and effect, forms the fundamental problem at the heart of the project.

With the help of case studies on ballets from Paris, London, Milan, and Stuttgart, the construction of rituals and popular culture in theatrical dance is investigated, in order to discover the overlapping, interdependence, cooperation and conflict in theatrical dance and in the relevant literature.

Last updated: 11.04.2016

Contact

Dr. Hanna Walsdorf

Postal address:
Universität Leipzig
Institut für Theaterwissenschaft
Ritterstraße 16
04109 Leipzig
Germany

Office:
Ritterstraße 12, Room 501A

Telephone: +49 341 97-30 416
+49 341 97-30 417

e-mail

Emmy Noether-Programm der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)

Projekt

Über das Forschungsprojekt

Ritualdesign für die Ballettbühne

Konstruktionen von Volkskultur im europäischen Theatertanz (1650–1760)

Das Projekt untersucht den europäischen Theatertanz zwischen 1650 und 1760 – vom Dienstantritt Pierre Beauchamps als Tanzlehrer Ludwigs XIV. bis zum Erscheinen der großen Reformschrift Jean Georges Noverres – in einem multiperspektivischen Ansatz.

In den Bühnenwerken der Zeit werden auf vielerlei Weise gesellschaftliche Aushandlungsprozesse thematisiert und ästhetisiert. Der Ritualgehalt dieser Darstellungen im Sinne einer vorgeschriebenen, symbolischen und formalisierten Handlung mit transformativer Kraft und Wirkung steht als erkenntnisleitende Fragestellung im Zentrum des Projekts.

Mit Hilfe von Fallstudien zu Balletten aus Paris, London, Mailand und Stuttgart wird der Konstruktion von Ritualen und Volkskultur im Theatertanz nachgespürt, um das Übereinander, Voneinander, Miteinander und Gegeneinander im Theatertanz und im über ihn vorhandenen Schrifttum zu ergründen.

letzte Änderung: 11.04.2016

Kontakt

Dr. Hanna Walsdorf

Postadresse:
Universität Leipzig
Institut für Theaterwissenschaft
Ritterstraße 16
04109 Leipzig

Büro:
Ritterstraße 12, Raum 501A

Telefon: +49 341 97-30 416
+49 341 97-30 417

E-Mail

Emmy Noether-Programm der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)