The Collaborative Research Centre’s structure consists of Research Areas and their respective projects. Its governing bodies are the General Assembly, the Board, and the Speaker and his Deputy, all of them being subject to the centre’s bylaws. The proceedings of the SFB 1199 are based on its bylaws.

General Assembly

Composed of all members of the Collaborative Research Centre, the General Assembly takes decisions concerning membership, bylaws, overall budget, and distribution rules for common SFB resources. It also elects the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker, and additional members of the Board. Through the election of Board, the General Assembly delegates several tasks directly to the Board, for instance the conceptualization and coordination of the centre’s scientific programme; the preparation of applications for further funding, including the decision about renewed/newly developed/revised projects; financial steering measures; and the planning and organization of workshops, conferences, colloquia, and other events.


The Board – the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker, and the members elected by the General Assembly – governs the Collaborative Research Centre’s scientific programme. The Board administers budgets, oversees the employment of researchers, communicates with the management and rectorate of the university, conceptualizes the training of PhD students and further training of researchers, and manages the implementation of equal opportunity measures. The Board is elected for a period of four years.


The Speaker and the Deputy Speaker head the central coordination project and publicly represent the Collaborative Research Centre. They call Board meetings, General Assemblies, and other meetings required to facilitate the proper working of the centre.


The bylaws of the Collaborative Research Centre are part of the funding application and made accessible to every member of the centre.


Matthias Middell (Global and European Studies Institute, Leipzig U)

Deputy Speaker

Gabriele Pisarz-Ramirez (Institute of American Studies, Leipzig U)

Executive Board

Ulf Engel (Institute of African Studies, Leipzig U)

Sebastian Lentz (Leibniz Institute for Regional Geography, Leipzig)

Matthias Middell (Global and European Studies Institute, Leipzig U)

Gabriele Pisarz-Ramirez (Institute of American Studies, Leipzig U)

Ute Wardenga (Leibniz Institute for Regional Geography & Leipzig U)

Dmitri van den Bersselaar (Institute for Afreican Studies, Leipzig U)

Steffi Marung (Global and European Studies Institute, Leipzig U)

Ute Rietdorf (SFB 1199, Leipzig U)

Uwe Müller (Leibniz Institute for the History and Culture of Eastern Europe)

Thorben Pelzer (Institute for East Asian Studies, Leipzig U)

Geert Castryck (Institute for African Studies, Leipzig U)